This document is written to provide clarity to Arcadia University IT Policy on Computing Resources with specific information regarding retaining data where it may be critical for former employees.
“Access to University Technology Resources ends on the last day of employment and all Technology Resources associated with that faculty or staff member are deactivated, and all data therein is deleted, 30 days after the last day of employment unless an extension is requested by the manager.”
Upon employee separation, IT will perform the following steps:
Gmail
Email delegation access will be granted to the manager for review. Review should include thorough analysis of files by manager; deleting data no longer needed and moving needed data to the appropriate location. Appropriate locations may be departmental Google Shared Drive or a system of record. The Gmail account will be removed after 30 days including delegation access.
Google Drive
All employee Google files will be moved to a dedicated temporary Google Shared Drive and the manager will be given access for review. Review should include thorough analysis of files by manager; deleting data no longer needed and moving needed data to the appropriate location. Appropriate locations may be departmental Google Shared Drive or a system of record. This temporary Google Shared Drive is deleted after the 30 day period.
Calendar
At the end of the 30 day window, all events scheduled by the employee will be cancelled.
Adherence to data retention policies are critical to reducing data breaches, minimizing security incidents and assisting legal compliance. If, at the end of the 30 day window, additional accommodated access is required, please contact the helpdesk: helpdesk@arcadia.edu.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.